Ancient Frontman Zel Featured On Mortuary Drape’s 30th Anniversary DVD Show!

On November 2, Italian occult black metal legends Mortuary Drape will release a DVD of their unique 30th-anniversary show. The show took place in Alessandria on November 12 2016, and some special guests shared the stage with the band, such as Erik Danielsson (Watain), AC Wild (BullDozer), Andy “Bull” Panigada (BullDozer), Al De Noble (Death SS/Secret Sphere), and Ancient’s Frontman Zel (aka Aphazel). The DVD ”30th Anniversary Show” will feature the entire gig of 2 hours and 20 mins.

Pre order your special copy

Ancient is currently on their headlining tour in Latin America, check out below all the tour dates and other upcoming shows.

September 7 Mexico – Merida Yucatan – Delorean Bar
September 8 Mexico – San Luis Potosi – Bunker
September 9 Mexico – Mexico City – Foro Cosa Nostra
September 10 Guatemala – Guatemala City – TBA
September 12 El Salvador – San Salvador – Buhos Pizza
September 13 Costa Rica – San José – Bar Fenix
September 15 Colombia – Cali – Discoteca La Mayor
September 16 Colombia – Bogotà – TBA
September 17 Ecuador – Quito – TBA
September 19 Lima – Peru – Discoteca The Blood
September 20 Chile – Santiago – Chargola
September 21 Argentina – Buenos Aires – Museo Rock

Upcoming Ancient Festivals:

Festivals 2017:
December 2 – Into Darkness Festival IV – Leeuwarden – Holland
December 3 – Baroeg Rotterdam – Holland

May 12 – Under The Banner of Black Light Fest – Graz – Austria

Just recently Ancient re-released their ”Trolltaar” EP (1995) by Sleaszy Rider Records! This 2017 edition includes 3 live tracks from Norway in 1993, and not only.. The vinyl will also soon be available. For more information and orders, go here.

Ancient released their long awaited 7th studio album, ”Back To The Land Of The Dead” on September 16th in North America via (Megadeth bassist David Ellefson’sEMP Underground/EMP Label Group, and in the rest of the World by Soulseller Records.

Order ”Back To The Land Of The Dead ” in various CD, LP and bundle configurations at:
EMP Underground/EMP Label Group:
Soulseller Records:

Back To The Land Of The Dead ” is a comeback for Ancient, 12 years after the previous release ”Night Visit”.

The album was recorded in 7 different locations, in Norway, Denmark, Italy and Greece, mixed in Elfo Studios in Italy, and mastered by Mika Jussila at Finnvox Studios. The album was produced by Ancient.

With Nick Barker behind the drumkit, the album is, as expected, the most aggressive and fastest album of Ancient, yet still with a good amount of clean guitars, and various dark atmospheres as the band is known for. The music was composed by Zel and Dhilorz. The lyrics on the album are all written by Zel, many of them speaking about the devil, the spirit of the devil and how it influences us in various devastating and destructive ways, as well as some fantasy lyrics, still somehow connected with the ”old Nick subject”. The album cover shows a hooded figure coming back to “the land of the dead” to wake up the “spiritually dead people there”. The album is 66 minutes long and has 13 tracks, including a cover of Bathory ”13 Candles”.

Ancient frontman Zel stated: “Death is just the beginning… “

The track listing is as follows :

1. Land of The Dead ( Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Dhilorz and Zel)
2. Beyond The Blood Moon (Music and lyrics by Zel)
3. The Sempiternal Haze (Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Zel)
4. The Empyrean Sword (Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Zel)
5. The Ancient Disarray (Music and lyrics by Zel)
6. Occlude The Gates (Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Zel)

The Excruciating Journey

7. Part I Defiance and rage (Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Zel)
8. Part II The Prodigal Years (Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Zel)
9. Part III The Awakening (Music by Dhilorz, lyrics by Zel)
10. Death Will Die (Music and lyrics by Zel)
11. The Spiral (Music and lyrics by Zel)
12. Petrified By Their End (Music by Dhilorz and Zel, lyrics by Zel)

Bonus track :
13. 13 Candles (Music and lyrics by Quorthon)

Ancient line-up:

Zel (aka Aphazel) on vocals/guitars/keyboards
Dhilorz on guitars/bass
Nick Barker on drums

Live sessions:
Ghiulz Borroni (Bulldozer) on guitars

For more information go to: