Album review

Fates Warning-Theories of Flight



1. From the Rooftops
2. Seven Stars
3. SOS
4. The Light and Shade of Things
5. White Flag
6. Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen
7. The Ghosts of Home
8. Theories of Flight


Band that has never carried the white flag.It’s quite difficult to find a band nowadays whose songs don’t  sound like recycled works from the past trying to attract more and more audience.

Fates  Warning is a band with 32 years of musical experience that always continues to build up, refine its style and make progress. With every album this band shows that they are more and more musically matured, creating amazing pieces of art based on their knowledge and experience and the ephemerality  of life.

Three years after the album ”Darkness in the different  light”,  they triumphantly return with ”Theories of Flight”, an album that features eight very complex songs which represent a combination of very dynamic, heavy and in some moments  a little bit dark melodies with amazing emotional vocals.

The man responsible  for preserving the unique and recognizable mucial style,  the ”mastermind” of the band, is Jim Matheos , the main songwriter and the only remaining founding member. The lineup is the same as on the previous album : Ray Adler – vocal, Jim Matheos – guitar, Frank Aresti– guitar, Joe Vera -bass guitar and Bob Jarzombek – drums.

The record opens with a relaxing melody and continues with Matheos’s killer riffs and Ray’s powerful voice in ”From the Rooftops”. The next song sounds like an ”updated”  (and in some way  ”metalized” ) part from the masterpiece ”Parallels”.  The musical journey continues with ”S.O.S.”,  another brick in the wall which confirms the guys’ technical skills, and the holy trinity, the highlights of the album: ”The light and shade of things” – a track colored with epical choruses and melancholy; ”White Flag” , as the most metal song on the album which gives us very simple advice on how to survive in this cruel world and how to deal with people – don’t let them know what can hurt you; and ”Like Our Stars Have Seen” – a very modern and dramatic progressive song with killer instrumental  sections and the singer’s flawless contribution.

If you look at the lyrics you can notice that they are almost filled with some nostalgia and longing for innocent times. The Ghosts of home is a ten-and-a-half-minute  piece of art which evokes in the listener an eruption of sounds and emotion, familiarizing them with Matheos’s childhood and the issue of never having a real home. He found his  ”trail to home”  with the instrumental title track.

Exceeding  everyone’s expectations ,  once more,  they made a classical release. Theories of Flight” represents a great definition of a progressive album of any kind.

Fates Warning

Rating Album:9/10

Rating Cover:8/10

Rating album: Fleur Du Mal

My name is Jovana Marković. Fleur Du Mal, the name I chose, is about the muse that you invocate when you need inspiration for mathematical skills, photography, poetry and some adventure.