Auðn released new song called ”Skuggar”!

Auðn are currently streaming the second fascinating track ”Skuggar” taken from their forthcoming album, ‘Farvegir Fyrndar”, which is slated for release on November 10th.

Auðn stated this about the new song

“We are proud to present the second track taken from our forthcoming album, ”Farvegir Fyrndar”. ”Skuggar” was hard to write although the song appears to be relatively simple. There was tension when we created the track, which adds another new element to our sound. ”Skuggar” turned out to be melodic, bleak, and dark which represents the feeling and meaning of the lyrics that revolve around a journey into the afterlife, and the disappointment on reaching that destination.”

Cover art: Víðir Mýrmann Þrastarson

Track list:

1. Veröld Hulin (6:24)
2. Lífvana Jörð (4:06)
3. Haldreipi Hugans (8:04)
4. Prísund (4:03)
5. Ljósaslæður (6:37)
6. Blóðrauð Sól (4:27)
7. Eilífar Nætur (5:42)
8. Skuggar (5:14)
9. Í Hálmstráið Held (5:20)

Total playing time: 49:57

On further news,  Auðn have announced a European tour together with label mates The Great Old Ones in support of Ghaals WYRD.

Here are the tour dates for the tour:

+The Great Old Ones +Ghaals WYRD

01 Dec 17 Bochum (DE) Matrix
02 Dec 17 Vosselaar (BE) Biebob
04 Dec 17 Toulouse (FR) metronum
05 Dec 17 Madrid (ES) Chango
06 Dec 17 Barcelona (ES) boveda
07 Dec 17 Marseille (FR) Jas Rod
09 Dec 17 Bologna (IT) Alcemica Music Club
10 Dec 17 Zürich (CH) Werk 21
12 Dec 17 München (DE) Backstage
13 Dec 17 Wroclaw (PL) Firlej
14 Dec 17 Erfurt (DE) From Hell
15 Dec 17 Berlin (DE) De Mortem Et Diabolum

 Auðn dates for festivals:
16 Dec 17 Eindhoven (NL) Eindhoven Metal Meeting 2017
30 Mar 18 Oslo (NO) Inferno Festival 2018

For all its beauty, Iceland can be a sinister place where furious elements rage teaching fear but also inspiring human creativity. Hailing from the village of ”Hveragerði” in the south of the volcanic island,  Auðn are the latest offspring from the burgeoning black metal scene in this land of ice and snow to set their dark sails for foreign shores.

With their second full-length, ”Farvegir Fyrndar” (literally meaning “Ancient Riverbeds“, with a long tail of untranslatable subtext),Auðn  continue their fast ascent. Unlike the majority of their blackened brethren from the country’s capital Reykjavik, this young band does not base its sound more or less on Deathspell Omega worship, but rather reaches back to a more classic second generation black metal approach for inspiration.

Auðn deliver haunting melodies and beautifully frozen atmospheres – as opposed to the jarring and caustic blunt force trauma that has brought this remote place in the Northern Atlantic to the black metal forefront of late.

Founded in the bleak winter of 2010, Auðn ‘s talent was quick to be recognised. The band got invited to Iceland’s main metal event, the Eistnaflug Festival and won the local Wacken Metal Battle contest in 2016, while making it to the top 3 at the main event. Performances at the prestigious Inferno and Roadburn Festivals followed in 2017.

With ”Farvegir Fyrndar”,  Auðn not only demonstrate the impressive progress of their songwriting skills but also deliver a clear definition of their very own black sound. Warning: this album grows with every spin and will take a long time to even come close to any limit!


Aðalsteinn Magnússon – guitar
Andri Björn Birgisson – guitar
Hjalti Sveinsson – vocals
Hjálmar Gylfason – bass
Sigurður Kjartan Pálsson – drums


Birgir Jón Birgisson and Rolf Grove at Sundlaugin Studio

Mix & Mastering:

Stephen Lockheart at Studio Emissary


Booking contact:



Check out the video for the song ”Skuggar” here, enjoy it:




Translate »