Misery Index announce Japanese tour dates!

Death Metal outfit Misery Index have added new Japanese tour dates together with Napalm Death in support of their upcoming album ”Rituals of Power”. The new album is slated for release on March 8th, 2019 via Season of Mist Records.

Statement of the band about the tour:

“We are elated that Extreme the Dojo has invited us back to Japan again for another incredible line up. Our last run was Vol. 22 alongside Cannibal Corpse and The Faceless. This time true grit and grind is taken to the extreme together with Napalm Death, Eyehategod and Melt Banana!”


1. Universal Untruths (2:35)
2. Decline and Fall (4:36)
3. The Choir Invisible (4:26)
4. New Salem (3:24)
5. Hammering the Nails (3:46)
6. Rituals of Power (5:20)
7. They Always Come Back (5:08)
8. I Disavow (4:21)
9. Naysayer (2:26)

Misery Index  Japanese tour dates with the Dojo with Napalm Death, Eyehategod and Melt-Banana:

3.5.2019 渋谷 Club Quattro Osaka, Japan

3.6.2019 渋谷 Club Quattro Tokyo, Japan

05 Mar 19 Osaka (JP) Umeda Club Quatro

06 Mar 19 Tokyo (JP) Shibuya Club Quatro (+Napalm Death +Eyehategod)

Misery Index with Wormot, The Lion’s Daughter and Truth Corroded European “Rituals of Power: Phase 1” European tour dates:

23 Mar 19 Heidelberg (DE) Heidelberg Deathfest
24 Mar 19 Nürnberg (DE) Z-Bau
25 Mar 19 Wien (AT) Escape Metalcorner
26 Mar 19 Brno (CZ) Melodka
27 Mar 19 Dresden (DE) Chemiefabrik
28 Mar 19 Kassel (DE) Goldgrube
29 Mar 19 Berlin (DE) Cassiopeia
30 Mar 19 Eindhoven (NL) Grindhoven
31 Mar 19 München (DE) Backstage
01 Apr 19 Zürich (CH) Werk21
02 Apr 19 Segrate MI (IT) Circolo Magnolia
03 Apr 19 Genf (CH) Usine
04 Apr 19 Paris (FR) Glazart
05 Apr 19 Sint Niklaas (BE) De Casino
06 Apr 19 Essen (DE) Turock

The bands statement for the upcoming album:

“‘Rituals of Power’ is a disavowal and warning against the consequences of our so-called ‘post-truth’ age. Each of the 9 songs revolves loosely around this theme, yet each track also stands very much on its own. As an album however, they are all brought to life as one ‘reanimated’ monster; it’s roughly 35 minutes of unhinged, yet cohesive, riff-driven aural ballistics. We were pissed off and on fire during both the writing and recording, and we think it shows in spades. We set out to write the best album we could, based on what we would want to hear first as fans of this music, and we could not be happier.”

On further news, Misery Index have announced new European dates together with Wormot and Truth Corrodedin the spring of 2019. The ”Rituals of Power: Phase 1” tour sees the band traveling through eight countries with a final curtain at the Turock in Essen (DE).

Misery Index  return furiously with their brand new album, ”Rituals of Power”! With their sixth full-length, the American icons of hard hitting brutality display the strength of maturity grown out of the experience gained as a relentless touring machine. The general trend of their continuous evolution to incorporate less core elements and move towards classic death metal finds a new high water mark.

When their debut EP ”Overthrow” was recorded in 2001 by vocalist and bassist Jason Netherton (ex-Dyind Fetus) together with (then) guitarist and vocalist Mike Harrison and drummer Kevin Talley (ex-Dying Fetus), Misery Index immediately charted a course to explore and push the limits of Death Metal and Grindcore, drawing influence from bands like Morbid AngelNapalm DeathTerrorizerBolt Thrower and Entombed. The erstwhile project shifted to a full time band when guitarist Sparky Voyles (ex-Dying Fetus) joined.

In 2003Misery Index unleashed their first full-length ”Retaliate”, to exceptional reviews and followed by numerous support tours and festivals in Europe and North America. After several line-up changes, second album ”Discordia” was released in 2006 with even more touring in its wake. Their third full-length, ”Traitors” (2008)reaped raving reactions from both critics and fans and saw the band on the road again until 2009. Then Misery Index dropped ”Heirs to Thievery” (2010) like a bomb on the Death Metal masses, shattering all expectations. The album was both a commercial and critical success, elevating the band to headlining slots. During that year, long time guitarist Sparky Voyles was replaced by Darin Morris.

A string of shows and festivals around the globe followed and on the Munich date of ”Full of Hate Tour”alongside Cannibal Corpse, Behemoth and Legion Of The Damned, the band recorded their first live album. Released early 2013, ”Live in Munich” perfectly epitomized the rawness and ferocity that Misery Index elevated onto a new level with their fifth full length “The Killing Gods” in 2014.Now with “Rituals of Power”, revolving around the concept of “truth”Misery Indexare back with nine crushing tracks which tackle how ‘truth’ has been constructed and molded throughout history as a means to uphold power, regimes and ideologies. Brace, hold tight and run for cover, the wrath of Misery Index is upon us and they are more furious than they’ve ever been.


Album line-up:
Jason Netherton: bass, vocals
Adam Jarvis: drums
Mark Kloeppel: guitar, vocals
Darin Morris: lead guitar

Drum recordings: Mana Studios by Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal)
Guitar, bass and vocals: Apollo Audio Alternative by Ryan Mullins
Guitar and bass: Cellblock Studios by Darin Morris
Vocals: Soundwell Studio by Valtteri Kallio
Vocals: Casa Del Muerte by Leon Del Muerte

Available formats:

CD Digipak
CD Digibox with extras
Vinyl in various colours

Mixing and mastering: Will Putney


(pre-order available soon)

Booking contact:

North America: Continental Concerts: Stephan Mellul 
Booking Europe: MAD Tourbooking: Tim

Check out the lyric video for the song called ”Rituals Of Power” here, enjoy it:

Translate »