Virvum announce new bass player Arran McSporran!

Virvum have officially welcomed bass-player Arran McSporran as the newest member of the band. Arran already performed during several tours and show with  Virvum as a session musician, but will now be an official member of The Swiss tech death shooting stars!

Statement of the band about the new bass player: 

“We are thrilled to have Arran now officially as a full-time member. This may not come as a surprise to many of you, as you have probably already witnessed us crushing the stage together. Not only is Arran a true virtuoso and inspiration, he has also become a close friend and has grown into an integral part of this band. We can’t wait to hit the road and the studio together once more.”

Arran McSporran stated this about being a new member of the band: 

“After really enjoying recording the album and seeing the overwhelmingly positive response after its release, I feel honored to be asked to join Virvum and look forward to being involved in the future of the band both live and in the studio.”

The band is currently working on their next studio album, which will be released through Season of Mist.

  Virvum recently reissued their debut album ”Illuminance” (2016). Listen to the full album here! Artwork, track-list, and further info on ”Illuminance” can be viewed below.

VIRVUM album cover

Tracklist ”Illuminance”:
1. The Cypher Supreme (2:36)
2. Earthwork (4:31)
3. Illuminance (9:00)
4. Ad Rigorem (4:32)
5. Tentacles Of The Sun (4:55)
6. Elemental Shift (2:41)
7. I: A New Journey Awaits (1:43)
8. II: A Final Warming Shine: Ascension And Trespassing (10:28)
Total playing time: 40:26
When a relatively unknown Swiss band released their debut album ”Illuminance” in 2016, only insiders suspected the massive impact it would stir. Yet it was on the strength of this release that Virvum were offered to sign on Season of Mist Records. Now their new home is reissuing ‘Illuminance’, which is to be available on vinyl for the first time.

Virvum were founded by childhood friends in 2007 and since then the aspiring and hard-working musicians continuously fine-tuned and honed the tracks of their first full-length to match their burgeoning skills.

 Virvum first got noticed when guitarist and main songwriter Nic Gruhn happily took the offer to join a European tour with California’s progressive death metal pioneers Fallujah while also opening for such renowned bands as Suffocation and Cephalic Carnage in 2013. On the return of their guitarist, Virvum immediately set out to perform as many shows as possible in order to establish the band in Europe.

In 2015, a first single entitled ‘Internal Howl’ attracted immediate attention and, that same year,  Virvum were picked to internationally support big names such as Dying Fetus, FleshGod Apocalypse, and Defeat SANITY among others.

In advance of their self-released debut full-length, Virvum received a massive response for the song premieres of “Ad Rigorem” and title track in 2016, while the album was highly acclaimed by critics and fans alike.

With their professional attitude, the exceptional technical prowess of each individual musician, and last but never least the outstanding collective songwriting skills, the Swiss are now ready for the next step. While Virvum creates eat a new monstrous record in the studio, their amazing debut ‘Illuminance’ is made available again.

Booking contact:
Available formats:
Digipak CD
Gatefold LP in various colors

Bryan Berger: vocals
Nic Gruhn: guitars
Tobias Koelman: guitars
Arran McSporran: bass
Diego Morenzoni: drums

Check out the play-through video for the song  ”Tentacles of the Sun” by Arran McSporran here, enjoy it: